Banner 1Banner 2Banner 3Banner6Banner_2014Banner 8Banner 7
Club News Story

Nine Mavericks nominated for Quest For Gold Funding

2012 / 01 / 15

(Source: OVA website)

 The Quest for Gold - Ontario Athlete Assistance Program 2011/2012 (OAAP) is funded by the Provincial Government of Ontario through the Ministry of Tourism, Culture & Sport.  The Program will provide direct financial assistance to Ontario athletes through an “Ontario Card” designation. The intent of the OAAP is to provide funding to individual athletes based on their demonstrated commitment to high performance sport, allowing them to pursue athletic excellence at the highest levels of national and international competition. 

Ontario Volleyball is pleased to announce a draft list of athletes who have been nominated for Ontario Cards under the 2011-2012 Quest for Gold - Ontario Athlete Assistance Program. The athletes nominated were selected using the sport specific selection criteria developed by Ontario Volleyball, approved by its Board of Directors and applied by the Selection Committee.

Beach Volleyball (alphabetical order)

Sophie Bukovec
Brett Hagarty
Alexandra Hudson
Melissa Humana-Peredes
Charlotte Sider (Mav'10)

Lucas Coleman
Mateusz Golas
Aaron Nusbaum
Grant O'Gorman
Will Sidgwick

Indoor Volleyball (alphabetical order)

Ashleigh Andzel
Danielle Brisebois
Taylor Brisebois
Sophie Carpentier (Mav'12)
Caliegh Cruickshank
Madison DeDecker
Alix Durivage (Mav'11)
Kelsie English (Mav'10)
Myriam English (Mav'10)
Sarah Lynch
Shannon Neville
Vicky Savard (Mav'11)
Nicole Slikboer
Brandie Wilkerson
Becky Wilson

Danny Demyanenko
Alexander Elliot
Daniel Groenveld
Phillippe James (Mav'09)
Andrew Kocur
Jeremie Lortie (Mav'09)
Jori Mantha (Mav'10)
Reed May
Kyle Richards
Patrick Strzalkowski
Ray Szeto
Tim Warnholtz
Marc Wilson
Robert Wojcik
Luke Woud

Please note that this list is unofficial and is subject to change pending the outcome of any appeals and/or any re-selection decisions made by the Ontario Volleyball Selection Committee or the Quest for Gold Appeals Committee. As a consequence, this list should not be seen as final.
Athletes who have not been nominated and who wish to appeal this decision can do so by following the process set out in the Quest for Gold Athlete’s Handbook found at

“ You're the only one who can make the difference. Whatever your dream is, go for it. ”
– Earvin Magic Johnson